More on Books Part 3

Posted: August 2, 2010 in books etc., books etc., Uncategorized
Tags:

I am really aching to start writing about my most recent reads and movies and plays as they are fresh in my memory and what I have to say about them will probably be more substantial than trying hard to catch impressions framed by cobwebs and coming away only with sticky bits.  But I must finish this first. This is the last of the lot.

I think Anais Nin’s Delta of Venus was the first time I read erotica and was disappointed. I’m not sure what I had expected and I had read beforehand how she came to write it but I left most of the book unread.  Heard that Little Birds is supposed to be better.

 

I re-read JD Salinger Catcher in the Rye soon after Salinger passed on and wished I had understood the story better when I read it the first time, when I was Holden’s age.

 

Paulo Coelho’s Veronika Decides to Die, The Pilgrim, and Warrior of Light were sprinkled with insights and wisdom. I prefer his recent books like Brida and The Witch of Portobello.

 

Steve Berry The Paris Vendetta kept me engrossed to the end. This was another novel where I just couldn’t connect to the main character, Cotton Malone.

 

Anne Patchet’s Bel Canto which was based on a real life hostage situation (in Lima, I think) was sensitive and beautiful. The book was more about the people, peeling away the layers to reveal aspects which are usually overlooked.

 

I was sorry I picked up Sophie Kinsella’s Domestic Goddess. There was nothing remarkable about either the plot or the heroine.

 

Alexander Dumas’ Count of Monte Cristo was wonderful while I read it but didn’t leave a piece of it behind once the last page was turned.

 

Siddharth Dhanvant Singh’s The Last Song of Dusk was a rather tragic and beautiful story, woven with great care. It was lyrical and covered with imagery. But I kept catching glimpses of other authors like Arundathi Roy, Salman Rushdie and Toni Morrison.

 

Hundred Years of Solitude left me so depressed that I didn’t want to read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Love in the Time of Cholera. The title put me off but it turned out to be one of the greatest love stories I ever read.

 

I was not at all shocked by Oscar Wilde’s Picture of Dorian Gray, so full of aphorisms. Different times.

 

Sidin Vadukut’s Dork was funny in parts. We all know dorks and we all occasionally behave like dorks. Mostly the ‘funniness’ was stretched so much that I couldn’t believe I actually read it through.

I had trouble reading Umberto Eco’s Name of the Rose because it was so full of philosophy and religion which I am not familiar with. However after I finished reading the book, I went through a couple of websites and I think I understand it better. Aristotle (?) wrote Poetics and he was supposed to have written a sequel to it which is lost. In the climax of this story, we see how it was lost.

 

Margaret Atwood’s Robber Bride was about three women whose men have been stolen by Zenia. The book was not on par with Alias Grace and The Blind Assassin but I know women like Zenia so the story made sense to me.

 

Leave a Reply

