Easy like Sunday morning

Posted: April 1, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Though I am never one to start a Sunday before noon, I made an early start today and went out for brunch. Mostly because, walking past the Costa Coffee just down the road from my house, on my way to work, I see a few early starters, bleary-eyed yet blissful, and envy them. They are mostly people who take German language classes at the cultural centre across the road. The atmosphere is so different from the buzz in the evening.

I headed there and curled up in my favourite chair by the railings. Moments later a bumble bee decided to give me company, zig-zagging around my legs.

There is something about coffee shops that is stimulating and it is not just the coffee fix. It is the perfect place to banter, read, write, work, browse the net and most of all, people watch. My other favourite coffee place used to be the Barista at Leela Galleria, by the garden, which seems to be history, the Barista not the garden. There were only construction workers where the baristas were the last time I was there. Bummer.

Costa was started in London in 1971 by two brothers, Bruno and Sergio when they created the Mocha Italia blend with slow-roasted coffee beans which forms the basis of all its coffees. Cappucino, which is espresso with steamy, frothy milk with chocolate dusting is a breakfast beverage. So the The Costa Story booklet says.

Costa is one of the few places, actually the only place that I know of which employs mute people, who are not hidden away doing back office work or waiting on tables or cleaning up, but they actually take the orders at the counter – a position that requires communication – and do a brilliant job.

I had thoughtfully taken a notepad with me and forgotten a pen. My mind decided to go all profound on me and I could not pen it down. Don’t you hate it when that happens?

*

Watched Sujoy Ghosh’s Kahaani that everyone is raving about. Loved the casting – Vidya Balan as Vidya Bagchi, Parambrata Chatterjee as Satyaki ‘Rana’ Sinha, Nawazuddin Siddiqui as Khan, the deputy of the Intelligence Bureau of India and Saswata Chaterjee as Bob Biswas, the life insurance agent who moonlights as a contract killer.

It was set in a city that was – hold your breath – neither Mumbai nor Delhi. It was Kolkata, which looked as crowded and dirty and enigmatic as I remember it from over 15 years ago. It is also one of the few films which is centred on a woman. The only flaw – the flashback scenes that were unnecessarily weaved into the story to mislead the audience. Vidya Bagchi reminiscing would’ve been sufficient allowing the audience to imagine the rest and make their own associations.

A good watch.

Leave a Reply

