shy

Posted: October 5, 2014 in writings
Tags: , ,
a29237db0c02870fc44a62ed335bf84a

Image: Off the internet

I am child, I am devil

(But you are shy, you say)

I kick. I scream.

There’s venom in me.

(But you are shy, you say)

I am lover, I am whore

I take my pleasures gladly.

How ’bout an encore?

(But you are shy, you say)

I speak up, nostrils flaring

Eyes blazing

(But you are shy, you say)

I will tell you if my tea is not sweet

More sugar, please?

(But you are shy, you say)

I will wear clothes that don’t hide me

I am not afraid to celebrate

(But you are shy, you say)

I will color my hair honey

And paint my mouth strawberry

(But you are shy, you say)

I will meet your gaze, I will not turn away

I won’t hide behind a veil or a fringe of hair

(But you are shy, you say)

I refuse the overlooked corners,

I will sit where I am seen and can see.

(But you are shy, you say)

I will and can walk alone.

Slink off into the night, I won’t.

(But you are shy, you say)

I stand up to abuse

I will cut those I don’t need loose

(But you are shy, you say)

Subservience is not my drink.

Good wine is.

(But you are shy, you say)

If I don’t like a conversation,

I will leave the room and propriety.

(But you are shy, you say)

I gamble.

So now there, roll me the dice.

(But you are shy, you say)

I reel in the yarn

you spun

and hold together my lost selves.

(Yes, I am shy, I say,

but must it stop there?)

© Anuradha Prasad

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

