a page out of memory: the secret diary

Posted: February 28, 2015 in mixed bag
Tags: , , ,
Image: Pinterest

Image: Pinterest

Often sidelined by classmates who huddled together sharing secrets, I decided to take matters into my own hands and got a secret diary. It was burgundy – very elegant.

A secret diary, of course, lacks all credence if it remains anonymous. So I let it be known that my diary held all the secrets of Class VI A. I may have pulled the diary out of my bag and waved it at the lot staring at me. It led to a yelp, a chase and subsequently scandalized the good folks of Class VI A for what they whispered about was out on paper.

The crassness was apparently more evident in print, perhaps because it lacked the intimacy, exclusion and excitement of cloakroom gossip, a bona fide social function.  It didn’t endear me to anyone, which in retrospect was of no real consequence.

© Anuradha Prasad

Leave a Reply

